Bois de Cologne

Historical harps, recorders, serpent, portative, fiddle and violin, no all-star cast - and a very vital one. Old-time music is not mimicked here, but lived: atmosphere, density without bric-a-brac. At the center of the music itself: music from the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the early Baroque.

The joy of improvisation and the joy of experimenting characterize the music making of Bois de Cologne: many of the old melodies not only require a careful, source-critical treatment, but also an imaginative interpretation. To empathize with the music of bygone eras and to be inspired by it - these are important aspects of the common work of Bois de Cologne.

The instruments are superb replicas of historical models. The Harp plays, depending on, voice or continuo; the recorders, from the tiny sopranino to the (externally) angular female-high subbass, are air spirits, voices; Tongue art and breath. The fidel, bordun-colored, gently in viola position. Bois de cologne, a wood that bears special fruits.

The ensemble consists of a core that can expand depending on the project. From the duo recorder / harp to the quartet, different constellations are possible. The trio variant with gothic fiddle / violin is particularly specialized in the music of the Middle Ages, the trio with two recorders and harp plays programs from early to high baroque.


About tears, madness and humor

Ever since music is beeing documented, it has been the composers' attempt to express feelings. This sometimes happens only in a title, but also often through musical metaphors, such as the so-called "sigh motive", used in baroque music as an expression of sadness. In the different epochs there are various variations in the tonal language.

In this programme Bois de Cologne ensemble presents emotional music from five centuries, from the Middle Ages to the Baroque: with recorders, serpent, harps, fiddle, violin and a lovingly painted medieval portative. Guided by the moderation of the musicians, the listener experiences a journey of diverse feelings. Grief, love and sorrow, serenity, quiet and lively devoutness and pure joy of life, all this can be found in the compositions of Mattheis, Dowland, Falconieri, Chedeville, Baltzar and the anonymous works of the Middle Ages.

The varied instrumentation of the diferent pieces, from solo to trio, guarantees a colourful concert with tears, madness and humour...

Instrumentation program

Meike Herzig, Recorder
Konstanze Jarczyk, Harp
Albrecht Maurer, Fidel


Heaven on Earth

Already in an Indian writing from the 2nd century it says "The abode of music is heaven" with which music in itself would already be heaven on earth. The program of course explores further facets of the topic: for example the miracles of Mary on earth described in the Cantigas de Santa Maria, a description of heavenly Jerusalem, or in an anonymous Chaconne about the contrast of paradise and hell, and music that does not seem of this world as e.g. by Thomas Preston. Music from the Middle Ages to the Early Baroque, with small excursions into traditional music and improvisation. In short: A heavenly mixture that is not only played but also moderated by the musicians.

Some quotes from a review in the edition of of 9.1.2016 in the "Generalanzeiger":

… a thematically very beautifully arranged program between heaven and earth, which was musically extremely multifaceted.

… also in the numerous baroque pieces of the evening the extraordinary ingenuity of the musicians was evident, regarding both, the instrumentation of the pieces as well as their detailed interpretation.

…altogether... an exquisite program with excellent musicians.

Instrumentation program

Meike Herzig, Recorders
Cora Schmeiser, Soprano
Konstanze Jarczyk, Harp
Stefan Horz, Harpsichord


Douce Memoire (Ortiz)

Scarborough Fair

Se l'aura spira (Frescobaldi)

Time stands still (Dowland)

Stairway to Heaven

Zefiro torna (Monteverdi)


Information about this program will follow soon

Ensemble members

Meike Herzig

Recorders, serpent, portative

Cora Schmeiser


Konstanze Jarczyk

Historical Harps

Albrecht Maurer

Violin and fiddle

Katharina Hess


Stefan Horz